07
May
08

I felt heavy hearted…

when I read a post by my friend Anne.  She simply asked for an answer to the question, “What can’t you say in church?”  The comments that follwed left me a little heavy hearted…

Check out the post and comments here.

4 Responses to “I felt heavy hearted…”


  1. May 7, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    There were no doubt some hilarious comments – loved em.

    However in reading over all of the comments – I saw a pretty sad picture of the Church. I think the “facade” that people feel they have to put up is reflective of our theology, practice and leadership.

    It hurts my heart to think that many people can’t say “I struggle with…” in their churches. It more than hurts my heart, it feels like injustice and makes me “pig bitin” mad. Jesus didn’t die so we could be a bunch of phonies that get together and fake each other out on a regular basis.

    The Church should be a people of authenticity and openness. Our falsehood and veneered smiles drive away more people than any difficult doctrine ever has.

  2. 3 gbcrossbearers
    May 13, 2008 at 4:00 am

    KLINT- I READ ALL OF THE COMMENTS ON WHAT CAN’T YOU SAY IN CHURCH. I FELT AN OVERWHELMING SADNESS…ESPECIALLY TO THE ONES THAT DON’T FEEL THE WORTH OF PRAYER. I CAN TELL YOU THAT GOD DOESN’T PROMISE THAT WE WILL HAVE LIFE FREE FROM PAIN JUST BECAUSE WE HAVE JESUS IN OUR HEARTS, HOWEVER, PRAYER IS OUR CONNECTION TO OUR LORD AND THE COMFORT HE CAN PROVIDE FOR US. IT SEEMS TO ME THAT SATAN WILL WORK HARDER IN THE LIFE OF A FOLLOWER TO CAUSE PAIN AND DOUBT THAN HE WILL OTHERWISE. THIS TO COULD BE WORKING ON MANY OF THESE PEOPLE WHO FEEL THAT CHRISTAINS ARE PHONY.

    SOMETIMES I HAVE SUCH HEART-BURSTING JOY THAT I FEEL I CAN BARELY CONTAIN IT……AFTER READING THESE COMMENTS I PRAY THAT MY JOY DOES’NT COME ACROSS AS PHONY TO PEOPLE. HOWEVER, IT WAS EYE-OPENING IN THAT I WILL WORK HARDER TO FOLLOW THROUGH IN ALL I DO. I HAVE ASKED MYSELF THESE QUESTIONS: HOW DO PEOPLE PERCEIVE ME?..AM I GENIUNELY CONCERNED FOR PEOPLE?….WHEN I OFFER PRAYER, DO I FOLLOW THROUGH?………..

    THANK-YOU GOD FOR JESUS…..HE DID NOT DIE IN VAIN……I CAN DO ALL THINGS WITH HIS LEADERSHIP IN MY LIFE AND PRAYER DOES CHANGE THINGS EVEN IF THAT THING IS ME!!!!!

    CHRIS

  3. 4 gbcrossbearers
    May 13, 2008 at 4:05 am

    KLINT-BY THE WAY -I DON’T THINK I’VE EVER WITNESSED ‘PIG BITING MAD’ SHOULD WE WARN ALL LITTLE PIGS TO RUN LIKE THE WIND?

    CHRIS/MOM


Leave a Reply

